Walk Schedules

Walk Grade Descriptions

EASY: Usually a walk covering a considerable distance of up to some ten km, it can also involve climbing a peak at an easy pace. An easy walk involves a full day's activity taking three to five hours.

MODERATE: A moderate walk requires a good level of fitness and involves climbing a numbers of peaks over a considerable distance at a moderate pace. This involves a full day's activity five - six hours.

DIFFICULT: Requires a very high level of fitness and involves climbing a number of peaks at a fast pace over exposed terrain. Suitable for experienced mountaineers only. This involves a full day's activity six- eight hours.

2017 / 18 Schedule

Walk Area/Notes Difficulty/Duration
November
Sunday, 26 November 2017
Reeks..Black Mare Gully
OS78.
Difficult / 6h
Glenstal loop Co Limerick
Track, rough in places
Easy / 4h
December
Saturday, 02 December 2017
Knockfeirnagh Co Limerick
Opportunity for beginners or anyone out for a while and looking to get back on hills .
Easy  / 3h
Sunday, 03 December 2017
Circuit of Coumshingaun. Comeraghs. Co Waterford
Some scrambling on assent. OS75
Moderate / 5h
Sunday, 10 December 2017
Galtees. Co Tipperary
Exact details TBC
Moderate
Saturday, 16 December 2017
Christmas Walk
Walk to build up appetite for Club Christmas Dinner to be held that night.
Easy
January
Sunday, 07 January 2018

Sunday, 14 January 2018
Knockmealdowns. Co Tipperary
Departing from the Vee. OS74. The Vee - Glenmoylan - Twin Lakes - Knockmealdown - Sugarloaf. Steep ground in places.
Moderate / 5.5h
Sunday, 21 January 2018
Galtees from South Side
Black rd to Galtymore (919m) and traversing the wall to Lyracappul (825m). Returning the same route.
Moderate / 5h
Sunday, 28 January 2018
Connemara
Exact details to be advised
Moderate / 5h
Ballyhouras. Co Limerick
Easy / 4h
February
Sunday, 04 February 2018

Sunday, 11 February 2018

Sunday, 18 February 2018
Mullaghanattin Co Kerry
OS78, Starting at Ballaghbeama gap to Mullaghanattin (773m) and descending to Tooreenafersha. Open mountain with some steep ground.
Moderate / Difficult / 5-6 h
Arra mountain circuit. Co Tipperary
OS59
Easy / moderate / 5h
Sunday, 25 February 2018

March
Sunday, 11 March 2018
Sliver Bearnagh from Kilbane. Co Clare
OS58
Easy / 4h
Friday, 23 March 2018
Mountaineering Ireland Spring Meet
April
Sunday, 08 April 2018
Knockmealdowns
Moderate / 5h
Sunday, 15 April 2018
Coomasharan horseshoe. Co Kerry
Moderate / 5.5h
Show All Walks
Show Previous Schedules

Notes